North East Water

North East Water provides water and sewage services to an estimated population of 110,000 people in 39 towns in north-east Victoria across an area of 20,000 square kilometres. The service delivery area is bound by Corryong, Yarrawonga, Benalla and Dartmouth.

We operate 21 water treatment facilities and 22 wastewater treatment plants that service most towns across the region. Over 179 full time equivalent staff are employed at our centres in Wodonga, Wangaratta, Benalla, Yarrawonga, Corryong, Beechworth, Mount Beauty and Myrtleford.

Our operations are overseen by the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) on behalf of the Minister for Water, and the Department of Treasury and Finance (DTF) on behalf of the Treasurer.

We provide urban water and sewage services in accordance with the powers, functions and duties under the Water Act 1989.