Department of Planning, Industry and Environment

The Department of Planning, Industry and Environment focuses on some of the biggest issues in the state to create thriving environments, communities and economies for the people of New South Wales. The Department brings together the following specialist divisions:

  • Aboriginal Housing Office
  • Environment, Energy and Science
  • Housing and Property
  • NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer
  • Office of Local Government
  • Place, Design and Public Spaces
  • Place-making NSW
  • Planning and Assessment
  • Strategy and Reform
  • Water

Together, we deliver sustainable water resource and environment management, secure our energy supply, oversee our planning system, maximize community benefit from government land and property, and create the conditions for a prosperous state. We are a high-performing, world-class public service organisation that celebrates and reflects the full diversity of the community we serve and seeks to embed Aboriginal cultural awareness and knowledge in our work.